It All Started With A Rabbit

They say it all started with a mouse. What they really mean to say it that it all started with a rabbit. A lucky rabbit in fact named Oswald. Oswald was Walt Disney’s creation before he developed Mickey Mouse. However he was working under a production company that was not his. He left with several co-workers and began his own company we know today. So…You could say it all started with a mouse, but I suppose you could also say his dreams started with a lucky rabbit.

A note from Walt Disney from The Telegraph
A note from Walt Disney from The Telegraph
Chelsea Medel
Oswald inspired outfit designed by Chelsea Medel from Polyvore

Here and there I watched a series of cartoon shorts from 1927-1928 featuring Oswald from the Disney Treasures Collection: The Adventures of Oswald the Lucky Rabbit. You can buy the entire collection on Amazon believe it or not! Watching these old cartoons is watching a piece of artful animation history. It is amazing to know they did these with pen and paper verses the digital techniques we see today. Something truly remarkable about these old cartoons of Disney’s, are that the musical scores are just as much of a character in the cartoons as the drawn images. The music is what really drives the story forward and makes the cartoons memorable.

It was a bit tough to figure out what I could make that goes with Oswald because it’s not like making homemade rabbit food would be appetizing. I brainstormed ideas of what wild rabbits are associated with and went with a fresh, garden vegetable theme.  Below is an Italian Pasta recipe from Flour On My Face. The only thing I added was chicken. I know, I know. Rabbits are not carnivorous…but I am! I respect the individuals that can function without meat in their diet…but I just can’t. I get cranky. There are meats that I won’t eat such as veal, lamb, or animal organs, but other than that, bring it on and slather it in some sauce! This pasta dish is pretty delicious and I will definitely continue to make it a meal this summer.

My goal from Flour On My Face
My goal from Flour On My Face

Ingredients

  • 1 12 ounce box tri-colored pasta, cooked, rinsed and drained
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 cup Kraft Zesty Italian Dressing
  • ½ piece of chicken breast
  • 1 cup of cherry tomatoes, halved
  • ½ cup broccoli florets, cut into bite size pieces
  • ¼ cup red pepper, diced
  • ¼ cup green pepper, diced
  • 2 tablespoons parmesan cheese, grated and more for topping when serving.
  • salt and pepper to taste

IMG_2281

Directions

  1. Sear half a piece of chicken breast in olive oil at medium heat
  2. Drain pasta well and place in a large mixing bowl.
  3. Add all the cut up or diced vegetables.
  4. Mix parmesan with the Zesty Italian dressing. Stir well after five minutes.
  5. Pour dressing over pasta and veggies.
  6. Stir well.
  7. Refrigerate 2 hours or over night to allow flavors to marry.
  8. Serve with a sprinkle of parmesan.

IMG_2289

Days Left: 531

Movies Left: 589

Leave a Reply

