The Lucky Nugget

On the menu tonight we have country fried steak with country gravy (from a packet), steamed green beans, and instant garlic mashed potatoes…Truth be told, I might have cheated a bit…if you couldn’t tell. I’m all for homemade everything…but I’ve never made country fried steak before, homemade mash, or homemade country gravy. I think I might have been afraid to cook too many new things in one meal. What if it all was a complete disaster and I ended up wasting time and money on food I just wasn’t going to continue to eat?

As I write this watching the featured Disney movie The Adventures of Bullwhip Griffin, I feel not only ashamed that I didn’t go the extra step, but a bit of regret that I didn’t push myself…which was my goal when I began this project. In the movie, Griffin accompanies Jack, the boy he butlers (is that a word?) to California during the gold rush after the boy’s grandfather passes and leaves he his sister, Arabella, completely broke. It is important to tell you that Jack is 12 years old and ran away; Griffin follows him out there to ensure that he is taken care of. If a 12-year-old boy can move across a country to start over and earn a fortune, couldn’t I have at least mashed my own potatoes?

The Adventures of Bullwhip Griffin (1967)
The Adventures of Bullwhip Griffin (1967)
To celebrate the California Gold Rush from Disney Bound.
To celebrate the California Gold Rush from Disney Bound.

So, why chicken fried steak? Well, I wanted to capture a meal that was traditionally eaten in a wild western town – country fried steak being a popular delicacy. Bullwhip is a great western complete with stagecoaches, gunslingers, and the Lucky Nugget Saloon. Roddy McDowell (Griffin) was far from a rugged leading man, but the brilliance he brings to the moral, gentlemanly, and winningly clever character of Griffin makes him one of the best cowboys to date.

I’ve never fried anything before – let alone a juicy steak. I’ve cooked steaks in the past and I generally prefer mine medium to medium well, but in this case I decided it was best to cook the steak well-done. This is certainly not a meal I would cook every day as it is not the healthiest, but it is definitely a tasty way to treat yourself. At least I steamed the green beans right?

The recipe below is from Freeing My Martha. I definitely think KP made a better looking dish than I did, but the recipe certainly tastes fantastic! I think the most fun part of making this was cubing the steak. What a fabulous way to to let go of pent up aggression by beating a piece of beef senseless with a mallet!

Freeing My Martha Chicken Fried Steak
Freeing My Martha Chicken Fried Steak

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 to 2 pounds cubed steak
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups non-fat milk
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon each-garlic powder, paprika, cayenne pepper
  • Black pepper to taste
  • Additional Kosher salt and black pepper to season meat
  • Olive oil for frying

Directions

  1. Cut each cubed steak in half and season lightly with salt and pepper
  2. In a pie plate or flat bowl, beat eggs and milk
  3. In a separate plate, mix flour with seasonings
    • For each steak:
    • Dredge in flour mixture
    • Dip in egg mixture
    • Dredge in flour again
    • Dip in egg again
    • End with another dredge in the flour and set aside.
    • Repeat
  4. Heat oil in a large skillet over medium high heat.
  5. Fry 3 pieces of meat at a time until they get golden brown and turn over to cook the other side.
  6. Drain over a wire rack
Yum!
Yum!

Days Left: 530

Movies Left: 588

Leave a Reply

