Sugar and Spice and More Sugar

So I made a blueberry pie. I’ve never made a pie before that didn’t involve pre-made graham cracker crust and instant pudding mix. This pie was all from scratch – crust, filling, etc. It didn’t come out looking gorgeous by any means, but it tasted pretty decent. For my first pie attempt I’d say it’s a win.

Why did I make pie? Well my film was The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr. Toad. I not only made pie, I made English scones with lemon curd and Devonshire cream. These are classic folktales that needed classic recipes to go with them. For Mr. Toad, which is based on the classic English Folktale Wind in the Willows, I made proper English Scones from Rock Recipes, lemon curd from Love Bakes Good Cakes, and Devonshire cream from Smashed Peas and Carrots. I also acquired some Marionberry Jam by Maury Island Farm located in Washington State. For Ichabod Crane, which is based on the classic American Folktale “The Headless Horseman”, I made blueberry pie from Savvy Saving Couple. So basically…I cooked/baked like a boss this week.

All of this baking (Sugar! So much sugar!)has inspired my POSSIBLE next personal journey project. Drum roll please…Exercise. I’ve never been one to obsess over fitness and take gym selfies, but there was a time in my life when I exercised regularly. Over the past few years that has dwindled and life has happened. When I went through my break up I became even more sedentary. It was like I was waiting for something to happen and the idea of moving forward with anything felt wrong – like I’d be leaving something behind I wasn’t ready to leave behind.  I’m ready to keep moving forward now. I’m ready to release those endorphins!

Before I get started on an exercising extravaganza, below are the recipes I made this week.

Caution: Sugar High Ahead


 Proper English Scones

Ingredients
  • 1⅔ cups all purpose flour
  • 2½ tsp baking powder
  • 3 tbsp white sugar
  • pinch table salt table salt
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • ½ cup milk
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract (optional)
  • 1 egg
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. In a food processor add the flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt. Pulse to mix together well. (You can just mix the ingredients in a bowl if you prefer the manual method)
  3. Pulse in the butter until the mixture resembles a coarse meal. (or just use your fingertips to rub the butter through the dry ingredients until the same texture is achieved.)
  4. Whisk together the milk, egg and vanilla. Reserve a few teaspoons of the liquid to brush on top of the scones. This helps them brown nicely)
  5. Add the liquid to the dry ingredients and stir in quickly with a wooden spoon until a soft dough forms. It should be a little sticky. Don’t over work the dough or your scones will get tough and not rise well.
  6. Turn the dough out onto a well floured board or counter top.
  7. Lightly sprinkle the top of the dough with flour and just using your hands, form the dough into a round about ¾ of an inch thick.
  8. Using a 1½ inch biscuit cutter, cut out your scones and place them about 2 inches apart on a parchment lined baking sheet.
  9. Re-roll the scraps and cut out the rest of the scones. Brush the tops of all the scones with the reserved milk and egg liquid.
  10. Pop the scones into the hot oven for about 12-15 minutes or until the tops of the scones are evenly browned. Cool on a wire rack.
  11. Serve with thick or clotted cream and your favorite jam.
Rock Recipes
Rock Recipes

*Note: I don’t own a biscuit cutter. I used a pizza cutter and sliced the dough into triangles. 


Lemon Curd

Ingredients
  • 6 tbsp. unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • ⅔ cup lemon juice (that was about 6 lemons for me)
  • 1 tsp. grated lemon zest
Directions
1. Combine the butter and sugar in a medium mixing bowl with an electric mixer. Add the eggs an egg yolks one at a time, mixing well between each addition. Mix in the lemon juice.
2. Transfer the butter and egg mixture to a medium saucepan with a heavy bottom. Cook and stir the mixture over low heat until the butter melts and the mixture looks smooth. Increase the heat to medium and cook, stirring constantly, until the mixture thickens and coats the back of a wooden spoon, abut 15 minutes. DO NOT BOIL.
3. Remove the lemon curd from the heat and stir in the lemon zest. Transfer the lemon curd to a container and press plastic wrap onto the surface, covering the lemon curd, to keep a skin from forming on the top. Refrigerate.
Love Bakes Good Cakes
Love Bakes Good Cakes

Devonshire Cream

Ingredients
  • 3 oz of cream cheese, softened
  • 3 Tbsp granulated sugar
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 cup whipping cream
Directions
  1. Cream the cream cheese, sugar and salt in a large mixing bowl.
  2. Slowly add whipping cream and whip until stiff peaks form.
  3. Chill before serving.
  4. Serve with scones and jam.
Smashed Peas and Carrots
Smashed Peas and Carrots

The scones, curd, and cream were a lot of fun and super easy to make. I made them all within half an hour. Of course I needed to wait for the lemon curd to cool…but the prep and cook time was easy. I may have cheated on the jam part by purchasing it rather than making my own preserves…but honestly…I don’t really have a desire to can and preserve things. Its great for those that love it. I’m just not really a mason jar girl.

This went great with eggs and coffee in the morning for breakfast. -Alice Lea
This went great with eggs and coffee in the morning for breakfast. –Alice Lea

Blueberry Pie

Ingredients

     Filling:

  •  6 cups blueberries washed, and dried
  • 3/4 white sugar
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/2 teaspoon of ground cinnamon
  • pinch of Kosher salt
  • 3/4 tablespoon FRESH lemon zest

    Combine all Filling ingredients in a bowl and set aside until crust is ready.
    Combine all Filling ingredients in a bowl and set aside until crust is ready.

Crust:

  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose unbleached flour
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 pinch of Kosher salt
  • 2 sticks of unsalted cold butter from the fridge cut into little cubes
  • 8 tablespoons of ice water

Egg Wash:

  • 1 tablespoon heavy cream
  • 1 egg yolk
  • coarse sugar for sprinkling over the crust (Add all of these ingredients into a small bowl and mix them together. Use a baster to paint the egg wash over the lattice)

Directions

  1. Mix your dry ingredients in a large bowl, and then add the butter. The cold chunks of butter should be mixed into the flour using a pastry wheel (I don’t have one so I used my hands and a mixer).You want the flour to go from looking like little peas to breadcrumbs.
  2. Slowly add the water in to make a dough consistency. You may want to use your hands, or a spatula to work the dough into a large ball.
  3. Once mixed, separate the dough into two balls, and place them between wax paper to make to even discs. Refrigerate them for an hour to make handling easy as “pie”.
  4. Once you are ready to roll out the crust, pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees.
  5. On a well floured surface roll out on ball about 2 inches larges in circumference than the pie baking dish. Fit the crust into the pan, and trim excess using a pie trimmer.
  6. Roll out the second ball to and using a pastry wheel, cut the dough into 3/4 strips. (I used a pizza cutter…that might be the same thing? But it worked!)
  7. Fill pie crust with blueberry filling.
  8. Lay out the lattice strips you’ve cut over the pie. I just set them where I wanted them. It didn’t look gorgeous but I don’t think its beauty or lack-there-of affected the taste.
  9. Bake for 20 minutes. Later, reduce the heat to 350 and bake it for another 35 minutes. MAKE SURE you allow the pie to SET for several hours before eating it so that it is not a runny mess!
#ghettolattice
#ghettolattice
It's not gorgeous but its delicious! -Alice Lea
It’s not gorgeous but its delicious! -Alice Lea

Until next time Disney Foodies! Hopefully next time I will have a new project to get myself started on!

Movies Left: 584

Days Left: 519

Leave a Reply

