Girl’s Best Friend

I skipped around a bit this week out of sheer inspiration from watching Air Bud last week. I watched the most beautifully heartfelt animal films I’ve ever had the pleasure of seeing: The Incredible Journey, Homeward Bound: The Incredible Journey, and Homeward Bound II: Lost in San Francisco. As I mentioned in last week’s blog, my golden puppy is sweet sixteen which means she is a little doggy miracle. She shows her age despite her spirit, and it’s becoming more and more apparent to my family and me that we need to cherish the time we have with her. I chose to watch these films because they have always evoked so many tears – both joyful and blue. I know that if I waited to get to “I” on my Disney Movie List to begin this touching animal saga, I wouldn’t have had the emotional strength to get through them. It is entirely possible I may not have my baby anymore by that time.

Homeward BoundShadow

The Homeward Bound films are not only remakes of the original Incredible Journey film, but are based off of the novel The Incredible Journey by Sheila Burnford. It is a beautiful book – a highly recommended read. The story is told from the animals’ perspectives of what they observe throughout the “tail”. Instead of cooking something to pair with these films, I’m going to make this week a tribute to my girl. She is my absolute best friend; we’ve grown up together. All through school she would lay at my feet while I did my homework, come storming into my room and dive onto my bed at 6:00 am to let me know it was time to get up, and waited patiently for me to come after school – greeting me with kisses and a toy. As I’ve gotten older, I don’t see her every day, but whenever I make it home, she is still greets me as though no time has passed. When I’m sad, she licks the tears from my face or will lay her head in my lap…or just lay on me. When I’m happy, she celebrates with me by hopping up and down, running in circles, and verbally expressing her elated approval. When I’m hungry, she is the first person to let me know it is ok to eat, and she will wait patiently impatiently for her turn to also enjoy a snack.

Shadow (Golden Retriever): I had a responsibility to Sassy – to love her and protect her – the same as I have to you… and to Peter. And the same as you have to Jamie.
Chance (Bulldog): But we didn’t ask for this job.
Shadow (Golden Retriever): We didn’t have to. It’s built in. Has been ever since the dawn of time… when a few wild dogs took it upon themselves to watch over man, to bark when he’s in danger, to run and play with him when he’s happy, to nuzzle him when he’s lonely. That’s why they call us man’s best friend.

My sweet friend has probably been one of the most inspirational beings in my life. She’s taught me the meaning of love, selflessness, and how to truly appreciate all of the good things that have ever come my way. I write this blog today with a heavy heart and a grateful soul. I love my girl and I will probably never have a better friend than her, but I know that she will always be with me cheering me on with a smile and wag of her tail or comforting me with the happy memories she will leave behind.

Not my puppy, but I've always loved this quote.
Not my puppy, but I’ve always loved this quote.

Movies Left: 574

Days Left: 506

Leave a Reply

