Genie, You’re Free

So I’ve been unbelievably busy the past two weeks; I feel like I’ve forgotten about by blog – not purposely of course, just a lack of time to put into watching my films and cook. I think it was good to take some time off though because it gave me some more perspective on not only this blog, but also my life. When it comes to the blog, I realize I’m still finding my footing with what and how I want to post. My project is definitely taking precedence, but I realize that what I write doesn’t always coincide with what I initially wrote about in blogs one and two. I’m not great at being candid and personal, so perhaps if my idea of finding myself and exploring Alice Lea being in a relationship with Alice Lea, I really need to take that seriously.

Dishfunctional Designs
Dishfunctional Designs

In my personal journey reboot I watched all three Aladdin films: Aladdin, Return of Jafar, and Aladdin and the King of Thieves. Rather than creating an edible concoction I decided I would write a small tribute to the Genie himself, Robin Williams. Everything about the Genie represents laughter, caring, and the whole hearted ability to not only accept others, but accept yourself – which is my overall goal: to accept myself. Robin Williams’ ability to make others feel good and feel as though they can be and do anything is a gift that not everyone in the world can possess. He understood the necessity of being comfortable being you and that everyone has a little spark of madness that needs thrive.

Spark of Madness
Spark of Madness

I need to relight my spark of madness. Perhaps that means I need to take myself on a date instead of wishing that someone else would. I need to go spend a day at the beach with myself instead of hoping my girlfriends will text me first. I need to go sing Karaoke to find out maybe that I should never sing Karaoke.

Robin Williams
Robin Williams

No matter what I do right now, it needs to be for me so that I too can be free.

Disney Movies Left: 571

Days Left: 493

Rest in Paradise
Rest in Paradise

Leave a Reply

