Get a Horse

To kick off my reboot I chose a recipe, obviously Mickey Mouse-themed, to concoct. I asked for a Mickey Mouse cookie cutter for Christmas and found one in my stocking Christmas morning (thanks Santa!). With my new cookie cutter in hand, I wanted to find something I could make that would put it. I found Mickey Mouse pop tarts created originally by Liz on Call. In her recipe she added straws to make them lollipop-like, but I unfortunately couldn’t locate straws that would work for me. So, I made them without the straws and it still worked beautifully.

I’ve been watching a lot of Mickey Mouse cartoons lately, so I thought I’d begin my film adventure with the Mickey Mouse short “Get a Horse” that was re-imagined in 2014 – bringing Mickey and friends into the 21st century with 3D special effects. What I enjoy about this short is that although it brings a lot of what we love about technological advancements in film to the screen, it doesn’t shy away from what made the Mickey Mouse cartoons originally so fantastic: artistry. Creating a cartoon was about developing a 6-to-8-minute work of art to share with the world and “Get a Horse” captures the essence of that and what originally allowed Disney to win the hearts of millions.

getahorse-mickey-poster
By Amid Amidi at Cartoonbrew.com

Wow that last paragraph sounded incredibly impersonal…That’s what I was trying to avoid right? I’m not trying to sell anyone on Disney.  You either like it or you don’t…not really my job to sell it to you. Do you ever feel like our lives have become about selling someone on an idea be it your actual job or just convincing your friends to try a new wine bar? When did we begin selling to each other rather than suggesting or even just stating, “this is my opinion?” Why do we need to sell each other on life? Shouldn’t we just appreciate or acknowledge an opinion and move on? Maybe that is why our society is so anxious all the time. We’re so nervous and care so much that someone won’t like our idea that we forget why we had the idea in the first place. This is starting to sound like a lot of word vomit and rambling so with that I say people, let’s “get a grip”, “get a life, “get a horse” …

Mickey Tarts

Ingredients:

  1. Betty Crocker pie crust mix
  2. 1/3 cup of water
  3. Smuckers Strawberry Preserves/Jam (¼-1 Tsp. per Mickey shape)
  4. ½ cup of powdered sugar
  5. ½ Tsp. of vanilla
  6. 2 Tsp. of milk

Mickey Mouse Pop Tarts 4

Directions:

Pastry –

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  2. Stir 1 pouch of Betty Crocker Pie Crust mix with 1/3 cup of water
  3. Roll the dough mixture out on a flat, lightly floured surface
  4. Using Mickey cookie cutter, cut bottom pieces and place on baking sheet
  5. Place a ¼ -1 tsp dollop of jam preserves in the center of each mickey depending on how big the shapes are.
  6. Spread the preserves out on the shape so that it reaches the ears.Mickey Mouse Pop Tarts 3
  7. Cut out the top Mickey pieces using the Mickey cutter and place them on top of the jammed shapes already on the sheet.
  8. Using a fork, press the edges of the shape together to give it the puckered look or a pop tart.Mickey Mouse Pop Tarts 2
  9. Bake for 8-10 minutes.
  10. Let cool before drizzling icing.

Icing –

  1. Combine, vanilla, powdered sugar, and milk into a small mixing bowl.
  2. Whisk together until smooth.
  3. Drizzle the icing over the top of cool pastry.

*You can add sprinkles to the top if desired. I added black, red, and yellow sprinkles to make them as “Mickey” as possible. Enjoy!

Mickey Mouse Pop Tarts 1

 

Leave a Reply

